Progesterone suppositories I have known and loved

Progesterone suppositories: simple and effective.  There’s not too much to say about them.  Some key points you might like to know:

1. Remember to wear a pantiliner, or perhaps better yet, a maxipad.  OK, that’s kind of obvious, but if you forget, oh how you will be sorry.

2. Do not stick them up too far.  For some reason, REs do not feel it necessary to give you detailed instructions of what to do with these things.  Insert in vagina.  But what they fail to tell you is that if you start to get paranoid that the suppository will fall out, and you therefore stick it up so far that it touches your cervix, you will get cramps.  And then you will begin to have all kinds of paranoid imaginings that you are killing your embryos.  And that is not pleasant.  So don’t stick them up so far.  My nurse said, just inside the vaginal opening is fine.  They won’t fall out.

3. But if for some reason they do fall out… You should call your clinic to ask them for advice.  But while you are waiting for your callback, I can share a couple of considerations from my totally unprofessional, non-medically-relevant experience.  First: generally speaking all the progesterone is absorbed in the first 15-20 minutes, so if it has been longer than that, you probably don’t need to worry about it.  But: while you can expect the suppository to leak stuff out onto your conveniently placed maxipad, if you see something come out that actually really looks like the suppository when you stuck it in, there is some chance that it did not actually get absorbed.  And in that case better safe than sorry.  Taking an extra suppository would not really hurt anything.  Probably.  But ask your clinic, don’t take my word for it.  Assvice is free, and it’s worth what you paid for it.

3 Comments »

  1. Shaymer said

    Thanks for this helpful info. I have been pushing the little applicator as far as it can go and have been experiencing cramps and all of the panic attacks that come with them. Good Luck with your pregnancy.

  2. WAITING PATIENTLY said

    I AM ALSO TAKING THE SUPPOSITORIES AND HAVE BEEN HAVING THE LEAKING AND THE DISCOMFORT OF ALWAYS FEELING WET… I HAVE FELT A LITTLE ON THE UNCLEANLINESS SIDE FOR THIS REASON… MY HUSBAND HAS BEEN WANTING TO BE INTIMATE AND I FEEL A LIL NASTY.. UNDER THE CIRCUMSTANCES.. I KNOW ITS ALL TOO MUCH INFO BUT I HAVEN’T SEEN ANYTHING ON THIS AT ALL BUT I AM GLAD I AM PREGNANT AND I KNOW I NEED TO DO THIS TO HAVE A BABY. BUT I WISH THERE WAS A CLEANER WAY OF PUTTING THE SUPPOSITORIES.

  3. Wanting-children said

    Can we put them in the back door instead?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

