Infertility humour

When we were cycling in NYC, Mr. Nishkanu used to drag me and my sad, stimmed rear to comedy and improv shows to keep my spirits up.  Many a time I would sit folded into those uncomfortable seats with aching ovaries, laughing my pants off while going “ow, ow, ow!”  For a while I thought about developing an infertility humour stand-up comedy routine, though I thought probably most of the audience wouldn’t have a clue what I was talking about.  I don’t know about you, but humour is a major coping mechanism for me.  It has gotten me through many dark nights of the soul during infertility treatment.

Mr. Nishkanu is very good at getting me to turn a cry into a laugh.   When after stims I was swelled up like a giant weather balloon, and I would start saying in pitying tones “look how gigantically unnaturally swollen my belly is”  he would say “I know, if I saw you lying on the beach, I would push you back into the water.”  A lot of marine mammal jokes were told by all after that, to everyone’s amusement.  Or complaining piteously about medicine side effects, “How can I be hungry, have heartburn, and be nauseous all at the same time?”  Mr. Nishkanu just responded with a giant belly laugh… and suddenly I could see the funny side of it too.  (Note: after nearly 15 years of acquaintanceship Mr. Nishkanu has a very finely honed sense of when a giant belly laugh is safe and when it is likely to lead to hormone-induced rage.)

During our most recent 2ww:

Nishkanu, reading blogs: You know, Mr. Nishkanu, there are people who do an IVF cycle and then they actually get pregnant, and not only that, they go on to have an actual baby.

Mr. Nishkanu: That’s not true. It’s all just a giant hoax.

N: You mean like a Ponzi scheme? The early people get the babies of the late people?

Mr: No, no one gets any babies. The RE’s all just pretend that it works to get the money out of suckers like us.

N: They sure went to a lot of effort. It must take a lot of work to make up all those blogs of people who are going through IVF and get pregnant.

Mr: There are a lot of unemployed English majors.

Do you have any infertility jokes to share?  I’d love to hear them.

1 Comment »

  1. chicklet said

    That’s cute, you guys are hilarious. I don’t have any right now, but I’m working on one from a conversation we had the other day (and then it links back to all my other “conversation” posts where we’ve had discussions similar to yours above).

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

