Hyperemesis gravidarum (preg ment)

So, folks, it’s official.  Hyperemesis gravidarum, those of you who had Latin in high school will recognize this as “super pukiness of pregnancy”, aka the posh official term for a ridiculous level of morning sickness (though in the world of hyperemesis my case is so far thankfully not too bad).

Last Monday my RE got back from his vacation and found Mr. Nishkanu and me waiting for him.  I told him how terrible I felt and he took a look at me and said it was time for hospitalization.

Tuesday I went into the hospital and got pumped full of fluids, vitamins, electrolytes, and sugar.  I also got started on a new anti-nausea drug, it does not work as well as the standard drug but it has the advantage of not slowing my heart to the point of endangering my life.  By Friday I had perked up and was released.

Now at home on bed rest, with the solemn task of drinking 2 liters of water per day.  Nausea is a lot better, I can eat some and drink enough, but very very exhausted and still will not be able to be on-line much.   Doc says it’ll be like this for another month or so.  I can live with it.

Mr. Nishkanu shuttles snacks and drinks in and out to the bed-/sofaside and brings me trashy magazines to read.  Sadly I have not gotten him to the point where he can get up and go to the bathroom for me.  Some things I still have to do for myself.

Little one is still fine as far as we know and is pumping out HCG like it is going out of style.

4 Comments »

  1. Phoebe said

    Oh, I’m so sorry about the HG! You sound like you are facing it bravely. I hope this is only for the short term. Sounds like you have a great hubby there, taking care of you. HUGS!!

  2. Oh my goodness, I was wondering if you had this… so sorry to hear your news and I’m glad you got some good care. Hang in there and kudos to your DH.

  3. Lisa said

    Oh no! I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better!!!

  4. chicklet said

    Oh sista, I am so so sorry you’re suffering like this. Because while I refuse to whine too much about the nausea I’ve had, I can honestly say I am repeatedly and often grateful that I’m not as sick as I’ve heard (and now read) some people get. I think it takes amazing strength to get through that level of nausea and pukiness. Hang in there my friend:-)

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

