Another strange symptom, plus moving

Sorry for the lack of posting – I had a horrible, horrible head cold all last week.  Managed to crank out some work but post-work it was generally just collapse on the sofa and ask Mr. Nishkanu to get some carry-out.

This week it is time for a new entry in the “Who knew it was a pregnancy symptom?” catalog.  Sunday morning I woke up feeling like I had pulled my calf muscle.   Odd, I hadn’t done anything to twing it the day before, in fact I had spent most of the afternoon sleeping because of the aforementioned cold situation.  Ah well, didn’t think about it again, just kept off of it.  Until late Sunday night, when I woke up in the middle of the night with two pulled calves.  The pain kept me up half the night, which made for a crabby and groggy Nishkanu in the morning hobbling out of bed to call the OB and see what she thought of this.  She thought I should come right on in.   Fortunately Mr. Nishkanu could drop my crippled self off on the way to work and I didn’t have to (attempt to) walk.

I was evaluated for thrombosis, which it probably isn’t, especially not now that it’s dual-sided; it’s probably that I am getting severe calf cramping in my sleep (which apparently is what passes for normal in the 2nd and 3rd trimesters) and what I feel during the day is essentially calf hangover.  I was started on magnesium supplements to cut back the cramping, bought the world’s most expensive support stockings to prepare for the long-distance flight I am taking this weekend just in case it is thrombosis after all (can you believe that a person could pay more than $200 for one pair of support hose?  Unbelievable.  Thank goodness insurance covers it), got lots of beverages so I could stay ultrahydrated which is supposed to help, and went to the gym for a workout which I normally would never do with two pulled calves but the OB swore it would help, and it did, a little.

So all in all spent about 4 hours dealing with the ouchy calves today.  Kind of a bummer since I am moving tomorrow and would have liked to have a little more time for getting stuff in order and a little less time for hobbling around buying support hose woven from gold and stitched with unicorn tears.

The moving thing: yep, it is getting to be time to end our 6 month sojourn in the homeland of Mr. Nishkanu.  He is a bit teary-eyed about it understandably, though he will get one more month of homelandy goodness staying with his parents while I jet off on Saturday to a remote, isolated location in yet another country for a few weeks for work.  Sadly I cannot reveal the location to which I am going owing to my desire for this blog to be anonymous but I can tell you it is one of my very, very favorite places in the world full of wonderful people I miss desperately and I am so happy that I get to go and work there again – I was pretty sure I would have to cancel the trip because of the knocked-up situation but my OB approved me going, hooray!!

One little bit of warning, one of the downsides of the remote location is the lack of… dare I say it… broadband internet access.  In other words posting and commenting may be few and far between until August.  Rest assured I will be reading to the extent that dialup connections permit.

No worries, you’ll hear from me again before I go – Friday we have our 20-week ultrasound (or in our case 18-week – had to schedule it early because no 20-week ultrasound is possible at the remote, isolated location) – will report back on the results, which will hopefully confirm a still-alive, boringly average little one.

2 Comments »

  1. I’ve read about those leg cramps in my ‘What To Expect…’ book. Pretty common, seriously doubt it’s thrombosis.

    What’s interesting to me in your post (and elsewhere on The Internets) is how doctors treat all of these symptoms. I read stuff that is listed as ‘totally normal/common’ and see doctors having patients come in, then read other symptoms that I’ve understood to be NOT normal/common and see that the OBs brush it off as no big deal. Confusing. Maybe it’s because they (the OBs) are evaluating each patient individually. One would hope any way.

    Glad you’re doing okay overall. Have fun on your trip!

    • nishkanu said

      I think the issue is that the chances it is thrombosis are very small, but if it is thrombosis then it is incredibly dangerous. So, she’d rather be sure than dismiss it and end up with a dead patient. (The thing that got me calling the doctor despite my Mayo Clinic guide which agrees with your What to Expect is the leg cramp pain isn’t supposed to last much longer than a half hour or so).

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

