Arrived in RIR-land

Here I am in Remote, Isolated Region (henceforth known in this blog as RIR-land). To my surprise wordpress is actually easy to use over dial-up while Google Reader is completely hopeless. So maybe there will be more writing than reading, unfortunately.

Thanks for all your lovely comments on my previous post. I can add to my previous comments that: (1) the baby is definitely kicking from time to time now, hooray, go moving baby! and (2) I do not have thrombosis , even after the long flight. Those are good things.

I wish I could tell you more about this lovely place where I am, which is one of my most beloved spots on earth. Curses on anonymous blogging! One ting I can tell you is that the people here have a much more realistic attitude than city types (at least the yuppie city types I know) about the fact that bad things can happen to you. Yesterday I wa schatting with 3 of my neighbours (older women)who were congratulating me on my pregnancy. One asked if I was excited, I said “No, I am more nervous!” When she asked why, I said that there were so many things that could go wrong, and I hoped they would not happen. “Don’t think about that.” she said, and I expected some of that “don’t worry your pretty little head over something that won’t happen” kind of platittude that my relatives dish out. Instead, she said “just pretend you’re not pregnant. That’s the best way to handle it, the you won’t worry about it.” I love it, denial as the standard coping mechanism!

Hope you are all well and I will be able to follow your blogg adventures somehow soon.

Leave a Reply

