The resolution of the Great Name Dilemma of 2009

We’re done picking names at last.  Thank goodness.

I decided to take Chicklet’s advice and make our boy name list longer again. Maybe we couldn’t agree on “A” or “B” but  C through G would provide a breakthrough. I printed out a giant list of boy names and then started going through them with Mr. Nishkanu. By the time we got to the “N”‘s we still had no new names to add to the list – that’s right, Mr. Nishkanu had rejected every single one of them. At that point I started to realize how futile it was for me to be putting so much effort into finding an option that would be acceptable to him. Shouldn’t he be the one coming up with some alternatives?

I said, “Are there any names you can think of at all that you like?” He looked kind of blank.

I said, “Look, here’s the deal. I am happy to consider another name. But you have to come up with some options. If you can’t suggest anything, then we are going with (my favorite name).”

He did not look super thrilled about that but he was willing to admit that this was a rational solution.  If he really cares, he can put in the work to find another option.  I suspect that he cares enough to complain, but not enough to actually do anything about it.  Bingo, that means there is really no problem to be solved…

1 Comment »

  1. Liv said

    Hey N-

    Just wanted to let you know that I’m thinking about cha gettting into the final lap here and all. I’m happy to see you’ve resolved the name issue. Man was that a crazy way to get to there!

    I can’t wait to hear your news that your little one is finally here. Good luck and many prayers for all three of you.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

