To do list, adieu

Anyone who has been reading this blog for a while knows that I have a pathological attachment to my to-do list, which for the last few months has been both my primary method of coping (don’t have to think of the chaos which is the future and of the fears that something will still happen to the baby, because I can maintain control of my life by slavishly following the to-do list) and a primary source of stress (dang, the list doesn’t seem to be getting any shorter even though the delivery date is getting an awful lot closer…).

Wednesday I was at work, hacking away at the dang to-do list, and getting crankier and crampier by the minute.  I was chatting with a friend about my pathological to-do list, who said “and what exactly is going to happen if the to-do list doesn’t get finished?”  I said, naturally, “Are you kidding?  The world is going to come to an end!”  Then I said, “well, actually, it just means that things will be slightly less optimal than they would have been otherwise.”

Ain’t that the truth.

Somehow that one conversation was just what I needed to sever my affective ties with the to-do list.  Now my attitude is, if the stuff gets done great, if the stuff doesn’t get done, oh well.

This was just in time because I have gotten to the point in this pregnancy (39w2d) where all I want to do is crawl into my cave, stamp down my grass nest, and wait for the delivery to happen.   Not that I get to do that, thanks to my nation’s dysfunctional attitude to maternity leave.  But at least in my head, that’s what I’m doing…

1 Comment »

  1. Ana said

    Congrats! To-do list has always been my best friend, but is starting to become the nemesis—stealing any possibility for peace, serenity, and spontaneity in my life.
    Just can’t let it go, though…maybe by 39 weeks…(still at 36 and change now).

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

