More on interventions – a post for geeks only…

I have another midwife appointment tomorrow so I spent some more time doing background research into postdates pregnancy, induction of labour, and membrane sweeping.

First, I gotta say that if you are a research geek like me you should hurry on over to the Cochrane Review to check out all their meta-reviews on pregnancy and childbirth practice.  All the stats a girl could want.

Second, their meta-review on membrane sweeping suggests it’s not really a bad idea.  Not such a great idea that I have to kick myself for not having done it already, but a good enough idea that I’ll ask the midwife tomorrow to do it.

Third, they have  a pretty interesting meta-review on induction of labour for post-dates pregnancies, suggesting that 41 weeks might not be a bad time to do so.  On the other hand, they say that waiting until 42 weeks has very small absolute risks, even though they are higher than induction at 41 weeks.  Personally, I think you have to weigh things differently for first-time mothers.  If you take into account that the average first-time mom delivers at 41 weeks 1 day, and that induction in first-time moms doubles the risk of c-section, then inducing everyone at 41 weeks would mean doubling the chance of c-section for more than half of first-time moms… and that doesn’t really sound like a great idea for avoiding what is a pretty small risk.  Especially given that, in many areas of the US, once a c-section always a c-section…  But I am a layperson here, so don’t quote me on that logic.

We’ll see what the midwife says tomorrow.  In the meantime the little one is still doing all-day judo competitions so seems like things are still going well.  Lots and lots of contractions but they seem to all be in the Braxton-Hicks category so no excitement around here.  The wait continues…

2 Comments »

  1. Ana said

    Thanks for the info. I am a research geek, and I’m going to make sure I read up on all this in case I have to make any major decisions in the upcoming weeks!

  2. chicklet said

    I can’t really say much on the medical side of induction or on having your membranes swept, cuz I’ve never had a different labor to compare it to, but I can say that having mine swept really kicked things up. And with regards to being induced, while I will say it was hard, and the nurse confirmed for me that it was harder than naturally-had labors, I made it through. I’m thinking of you and hoping you get this done soon too – just so you get to move onto this fantastic shit called sleep deprivation;-)

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

