Book recommendations for breastfeeding…

Two book suggestions, one for those who have breastfeeding in their future, one for those who are currently struggling with it.

Before I had the Nushka, I read “The Nursing Mother’s Companion.”  This is an excellent book to have… after the baby comes, as a reference manual.  I found it pretty confusing and overwhelming before the baby came.  I would suggest instead for getting the idea of breastfeeding the book “Breastfeeding Made Simple” by Nancy Mohrbacher and Kathleen Kendall-Tackett.  It is a great basic explanation of the principles of successful breastfeeding.  Sure wish I had read it a little earlier…

The book I would recommend to anyone currently breastfeeding and having difficulty is “The Ultimate Breastfeeding Book of Answers” by Jack Newman and Teresa Pitman.  Great, extremely detailed book that explains how to deal with many breastfeeding problems.  Jack Newman is the authority on breastfeeding.   This cuts through a lot of the bull you’ll find people telling you.

4 Comments »

  1. MMC said

    Thanks so much for the book recommendations. I was just saying to my husband last night, after reading your earlier post (and thinking back on a number of other new moms I’ve read lately) that we need to find a book or two on the subject this week. I’m very wary of all the stresses of breastfeeding, if it goes poorly. And all the breastfeeding “cheerleading” information we get from many advocates doesn’t help much if things aren’t going well. Plus, the plain truth is that I simply just don’t know very much about the mechanics and issues of breastfeeding!

    Good luck with your challenges handling this. I expect you’ll be my role model on the issue in the coming weeks as I follow your path. 🙂

    • nishkanu said

      Oh boy, I hope you find a role model who is a little more successful than me in making it work… but I am happy you can learn from my mistakes!

  2. Bee Cee said

    Thanks for the tip.

    I will hopefully be ‘trying’ to breastfeed in approx 16 weeks from now and have ordered the book after reading your post. Thanks!

    • nishkanu said

      Good luck! Hope it helps!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

